FedCon 28 | Specials | Movie Stars Heinsberg
Movie Stars Heinsberg
2. February 2019
FedCon 28 | Specials | German Garrison

FedCon 28 | Specials | German Garrison

The German Garrison is the German sub-unit of the globally active Star Wars costume club 501st Legion.

The 501st Legion is the world’s largest Star Wars costume club with approximately 10,000 active members throughout the world. Although only the costumes of the “Dark Side” are represented, the Legion and its garrisons support many charitable organizations, true to the motto “Bad guys, doing good!

In 1997 this incredible idea started in the USA. Albin Johnson had the idea to offer like-minded fans of the Star Wars saga a common basis. The idea developed rapidly and the structures were further developed. So offshoots, so called “Garrisons”, arose all over the world.

In the year 2000 the starting signal was given for the foundation of a subunit of the Legion in Germany. Ten Star Wars enthusiasts decided to found the German Garrison. In shortest time the number of members increased and amounts to up-to-date to approx. 800 active members. With this number of members the German Garrison is the world’s largest garrison of the 501st Legion.

Since 2007 the 501st Legion is officially recognized by Lucasfilm and Disney: According to George Lucas, the blue-white clone army that Darth Vader is supporting during the storm of the Jedi Temple at Order 66 carries this Legion number.

While for our fans the costumes are the reason to meet us, for our members it is the untiring dedication of time, money and enthusiasm that has made the German Garrison and the 501st Legion what they are today. The German Garrison is a 100% volunteer club. We do not have any paid work structures and we do not gain any personal financial advantage from our performances. The members are committed to producing and wearing film-accurate costumes of the “Dark Side” and to giving pleasure to Star Wars fans with their public presence at various events.

Thus one meets members on typifying events of the DKMS, on meetings in libraries, on cinemaevents, on child birthdays etc.

Guest of FedCon 28 is the German Garrison already for many years and participates actively in the con happening. There will be a joint panel with the German Base Yavin and workshops on costume construction etc. will be offered at our stand. So it’s worthwhile to have a look at our stand.

Sources & additional links for German Garrison:

Website, Facebook

http://www.starcontinuum.net

Comments are closed.

FedCon 28 | Specials | Movie Stars Heinsberg
Movie Stars Heinsberg
2. Februar 2019
FedCon 28 | Specials | German Garrison

FedCon 28 | Specials | German Garrison

Die German Garrison ist die deutsche Untereinheit des weltweit agierenden Star Wars-Kostümclubs 501st Legion.

Die 501st Legion ist der weltgrößte Star Wars-Kostümclub mit ca. 10.000 aktiven Mitgliedern in der ganzen Welt. Obwohl nur die Kostüme der „Dunklen Seite“ vertreten sind, unterstützt die Legion und ihre Garnisonen viele karitativen Organisationen, getreu dem Motto „Bad guys, doing good!“.

1997 startete diese unglaubliche Idee in den USA. Albin Johnson hatte die Idee gleichgesinnten Fans der Star Wars-Saga eine gemeinsame Basis zu bieten. Die Idee entwickelte sich rasant und die Strukturen wurden weiter ausgebaut. So entstanden Ableger, so genannte „Garrisons“, auf der ganzen Welt.

Im Jahr 2000 fiel der Startschuss für die Gründung einer Untereinheit der Legion in Deutschland. Zehn Star Wars-Enthusiasten entschlossen sich, die German Garrison zu gründen. In kürzester Zeit vergrößerte sich die Mitgliederanzahl und beläuft sich aktuell auf ca. 800 aktive Mitglieder. Mit dieser Anzahl an Mitgliedern ist die German Garrison die weltweit größte Garnison der 501st Legion.

Seit 2007 ist die 501st Legion auch offiziell von Lucasfilm und Disney anerkannt: Laut George Lucas trägt die blau-weiße Klonarmee, die Darth Vader beim Sturm des Jedi-Tempels bei der Order 66 zur Seite steht, eben diese Legionsnummer.

Während für unsere Fans, die Kostüme der Grund sind uns zu treffen, so ist es für unsere Mitglieder die unermüdliche Hingabe von Zeit, Geld und Enthusiasmus, den die German Garrison und die 501st Legion zu dem gemacht hat, was sie heute ist. Die German Garrison ist ein Club, der zu 100% aus Freiwilligen besteht. Wir haben keine bezahlten Arbeitsstrukturen und wir erwirtschaften keinen persönlichen finanziellen Vorteil durch unsere Auftritte. Die Mitglieder haben sich verschrieben, filmakkurate Kostüme der „Dunklen Seite“ herzustellen bzw. zu tragen und Star Wars-Fans mit ihrer öffentlichen Präsenz auf verschiedensten Veranstaltungen Freude zu bereiten.

So trifft man Mitglieder auf Typisierungsevents der DKMS, auf Veranstaltungen in Büchereien, auf Kinoevents, auf Kindergeburtstagen etc.

Gast der FedCon 28 ist die German Garrison schon seit vielen Jahren und beteiligt sich aktiv am Con-Geschehen. So wird es ein gemeinsames Panel mit der German Base Yavin geben und an unserem Stand werden Workshops zu Kostümbau etc. angeboten. Es lohnt sich also, mal bei uns vorbeizuschauen.

Quellen & weiterführende Links zu German Garrison:

Website, Facebook

http://www.maskworld.com/german/department/original-kostueme?utm_source=kooperation&utm_medium=fedcon&utm_campaign=banner

Es können keine Kommentare abgegeben werden.